English | Russian   
Central Asia
South Caucasus
SPF Issyk-Kul Forum
Silk Route
Research Centres
Web Links
Join the Mailing List

Central Asia and South Caucasus Affairs: 2006
Central Asia and South Caucasus Affairs: 2006
Regional Security Issues: 2006
Regional Security Issues: 2006
Between the Black and Caspian Seas: New Challenges and Opportunities for the South Caucasus
Between the Black and Caspian Seas: New Challenges and Opportunities for the South Caucasus
Regional Security Issues
Regional Security Issues
The South Caucasus as a Part of the Wider Europe
The South Caucasus as a Part of the Wider Europe
Uzbekistan   Last Updated ( Saturday, 16 September 2006 )

With the expansion of the Russian Empire in the 19th century Uzbekistan was included into its vast premises. Despite the resistance to Bolsheviks after the World War I Uzbekistan became a part of the Soviet Union. It remained a socialist republic till the 31st of August 1991 when the Republic of Uzbekistan officially declared its independence. Therefore the 1st of September is observed as its Independence Day.

Today Uzbekistan is a sovereign country which constitutionally provides for democracy. The parliament consists of two chambers: Senate and The House of Commons. Since 1991 Islam Karimov had continued to be the president of the republic. The referendums of 1995 and 2002 provided for the extension of his term.

Uzbekistan is Central Asia’s most populous country. Most of its people live in the densely populated rural communities. Uzbekistan is now the world's second-largest cotton exporter and fifth largest producer; it relies heavily on cotton production as the major source of export earnings. Other major export earners include gold, natural gas, and oil.

It is a member of the United Nations, the Euro-Atlantic Partnership Council, Partnership for Peace, and the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE). It belongs to the Organization of the Islamic Conference (OIC) and the Economic Cooperation Organization--comprised of the five Central Asian countries, Azerbaijan, Turkey, Iran, Afghanistan, and Pakistan. In 1999, Uzbekistan joined the GUAM alliance (Georgia, Ukraine, Azerbaijan and Moldova), which was formed in 1997 (making it GUUAM), but pulled out of the organization in 2005. Uzbekistan is also a member of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) and hosts the SCO’s Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS) in Tashkent.

Official name: Republic of Uzbekistan

Area:  447,400 square kilometers

Borders:  Turkmenistan 1, 621 km,  Kazakhstan 2, 203 km, the Aral Sea  420 km, Tajikistan 1, 161 km, Kyrgyzstan 1, 099 km,  Afghanistan   137 km

Capital: Tashkent

Provinces: 12 provinces (viloyatlar, singular - viloyat), 1 autonomous republic (respublika), and 1 city (shahar)Population: 27,307,134 (July 2006 est.)

Ethnic groups:  Uzbek 80%, Russian 5.5%, Tajik 5%, Kazakh 3%, Karakalpak 2.5%,    Tatar 1.5%, other 2.5% (1996 est.)

Birth rate:  26.36 births/1,000 population (2006 est.)

Language: Uzbek 74.3%, Russian 14.2%, Tajik 4.4%, other 7.1%

Religion:  Muslim 88% (mostly Sunnis), Eastern Orthodox 9%, other 3%

Currency:  Uzbekistani soum (UZS)

GDP (purchasing power parity): $48.24 billion (2005 est.)

GDP per capita (PPP):  $1,800 (2005 est.)

For further information see:

The CIA World Factbook. The latest and the most updated country information.

BBC Country Profile

The official website of the government of the republic of Uzbekistan. Detailed information about the government composition, ministries, reforms, etc.