English | Russian   
Central Asia
South Caucasus
SPF Issyk-Kul Forum
Silk Route
Research Centres
Web Links
Join the Mailing List

Central Asia and South Caucasus Affairs: 2006
Central Asia and South Caucasus Affairs: 2006
Regional Security Issues: 2006
Regional Security Issues: 2006
Between the Black and Caspian Seas: New Challenges and Opportunities for the South Caucasus
Between the Black and Caspian Seas: New Challenges and Opportunities for the South Caucasus
Regional Security Issues
Regional Security Issues
The South Caucasus as a Part of the Wider Europe
The South Caucasus as a Part of the Wider Europe
Azerbaijan   Last Updated ( Saturday, 16 September 2006 )

Throughout its history Azerbaijan was occupied by various nations including Persians, Greeks, Romans, Armenians, Arabs, Turks and Mongols. Azerbaijan was incorporated into the Russian Empire in 1813-1828. The Democratic Republic of Azerbaijan declared its independence shortly after World War I. However it sustained only for two years and in 1920 it was invaded by the Red Army and forced into the Soviet Union. The Soviet republic of Azerbaijan was established in 1936 and lasted until the collapse of the Soviet Union. Azerbaijan has re-established its independence in 1991. However the first years of independence were marred by the continued confrontation with Armenia over Nagorno-Karabakh which carried on since 1988.

Today the Republic of Azerbaijan is a representative democracy. Former Soviet Azeri leader Hyedar Aliev was elected the first president of Azerbaijan. Upon his death his son Ilham was elected for the post.

Azerbaijan’s economy is largely based on industry. Its main industries include petroleum and natural gas, petroleum products, oilfield equipment; steel, iron ore; cement; chemicals and petrochemicals and textiles. Agriculture remains an important sector. Agricultural products include cotton, grain, rice, grapes, fruit, vegetables, tea, tobacco as well as cattle, pigs, sheep, and goats.

Azerbaijan is a member of the United Nations, GUAM, CIS, WTO, World Bank, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation, NATO-Program Partnership for peace, International Monetary Fund, Council of Europe, etc.

Official name: Republic of Azerbaijan

Area:  86,600 sq km

Borders:  Armenia (with Azerbaijan-proper) 566 km, Armenia (with Azerbaijan-Naxcivan exclave) 221 km, Georgia 322 km, Iran (with Azerbaijan-proper) 432 km, Iran (with Azerbaijan-Naxcivan exclave) 179 km, Russia 284 km, Turkey 9 km

Capital:   Baku

Provinces: 59 rayons (rayonlar; rayon - singular), 11 cities (saharlar; sahar - singular), 1 autonomous republic (muxtar respublika)

Population: 7,961,619 (July 2006 est.)

Ethnic groups:   Azeri 90.6%, Dagestani 2.2%, Russian 1.8%, Armenian 1.5%, other 3.9% (1999 census)

Birth rate: 20.74 births/1,000 population (2006 est.)

Language:   Azerbaijani (Azeri) 89%, Russian 3%, Armenian 2%, other 6% (1995 est.)

Religion:  Muslim 93.4%, Russian Orthodox 2.5%, Armenian Orthodox 2.3%, other 1.8% (1995 est.)

Currency:   Azerbaijani manat (AZM)

GDP (purchasing power parity): $37.92 billion (2005 est.)

GDP per capita (PPP):  $4,800 (2005 est.)

For further information see:

The CIA World Factbook. The latest and the most updated country information.

BBC Country Profile

The official website of the government of the republic of Azerbaijan. Detailed information about the government composition, ministries, reforms, etc.